Thursday, December 23, 2010

Chasing Women: Finding Your Female Ancestors

The following announcement was sent out by my friends at Legacy Family Tree regarding a FREE webinar:

Leland-100Registration is now open for a fantastic upcoming webinar: Chasing Women - Finding Your Female Ancestors. Hosted by Legacy Family Tree's Geoff Rasmussen and presented by's Leland K. Meitzler, you are in for a real treat. While the live webinar is not until Wednesday, February 16, 2011, space is limited to the first 1,000 attendees, so register today to reserve your virtual seat. Registration is free.

Webinar Description
Locating the names of our female ancestors can be difficult – principally because their names changed upon marrying. However, women historically haven’t produced as many records as their husbands, since women’s suffrage largely didn’t exist until the twentieth century. This adds to the difficulty of finding their names, let alone the details of their lives.

There are two major search areas that we deal with in locating women’s names, the first being the search for their maiden names, and secondly, the search for their married names. One search can be as hard as the other, and you may find you’re doing both types of searches on the same women.

This webinar is very “source” oriented, giving detailed information on a wide variety of sources, starting with the obvious, and working its way through sources that you may not have thought of using previously. 

About the presenter
Leland K. Meitzler founded Heritage Quest in 1985, and has worked as Managing Editor of both Heritage Quest Magazine and The Genealogical Helper. He currently operates Family Roots Publishing Company, writes daily at, conducts the annual Salt Lake Christmas Tour (now in its 27th year), and speaks nationally, having given over 2000 lectures since 1983. 

Webinar time
The webinar will be live on Wednesday, February 16, 2011 at:
2:00PM Eastern U.S.
1:00PM Central U.S.
12:00PM Mountain U.S.
11:00AM Pacific U.S.

 Other upcoming webinars
Wednesday, January 5, 2011 - Google for Genealogists with Thomas MacEntee.
Friday, January 21, 2011 - Improving Your Use of New FamilySearch: Data Cleanup Strategies with Geoff Rasmussen
Saturday, January 22, 2011 - New FamilySearch Made Easy with Legacy Family Tree


  1. Angela, I really enjoy your blog, so I'm giving you the "Ancestor Approved Award." You can pick up the badge and find the details at:

  2. Those are fascinating stories, especially when the story is contrasted with what is actually known.Reminds me of a few stories in my family, but especially in my husband's family.

    genealogy research